Frequently Asked Questions

What subjects do you offer?

High school and college-level Math, Physics, and Computer Science. Calculus is the most popular Math subject, but I also cover trigonometry, proof-writing, vector calculus, and more.

I also can help Computer Scientists with prep for technical coding interviews.

What is the format?

A typical session is 1-2 hours long. If you're in Bozeman, MT then we can meet in person, or we can meet over video chat with Google Hangouts (like Zoom, but less setup, simpler, and easier). We might use a shared digital whiteboard (Google Jamboard) for math or physics, where we can all draw, write, and work together in real time. For coding, we might work together in Google Docs or on repl.it.

I tutor either 1:1, or I can tutor a group of up to three friends. Groups make it cheaper, and I find that they improve students' learning by allowing peer teaching and community-building.

How much does it cost?

Normally, my rates are

  • $40/hr for 1:1 tutoring

  • $25/hr for 1:2 group sessions

  • $20/hr for 1:3 group sessions

However, I recognize that STEM is a highly segregated field, and I want to do something about it. Therefore I use a sliding pay scale, giving discount or free rates to women, BIPOC, first-generation students, and other under-represented groups. If you think you may qualify for a discount, please ask.

Why BrainJuice?

I have the experience, knowledge, and tools to totally transform your student's understanding of STEM, drastically altering their entire future path through the field.

Throughout college I worked as a tutor at the school’s Tutoring Center, and as a teacher and leader with the Outdoor Education Department. I have hundreds of hours of experience and a thorough understanding of both the material and teaching theory. After college, I had a cushy job at Google, but quit to focus on tutoring, I love it so much!

My understanding of STEM is both deep and wide. I studied at Colorado College, earning bachelor's degrees in both Computer Science (CS) and Physics, as well as a minor in Math. While there I helped win international Physics competitions, presented my thesis to members of congress, and won awards from faculty for achievements in CS.

After hundreds of hours of tutoring and working remotely, I have developed a remote tutoring platform using free, easy, consumer tools that rivals the clunky single-purpose platforms that other remote tutoring organizations use. It's never going to be as as easy or effective as in-person tutoring, but I believe it's about as good as it gets.

If you want more details from my résumé, you can view my LinkedIn Profile.

I'm interested, how do I sign up?

Awesome! Shoot me an email on the Contact page.